Covered Craft Storage Boxes

Image

I have been asked about these this week. I am due to move house soon so don’t have the time to write up a full tutorial but here is a photo with some hints and tips. 

In my office, the varied uses of the photocopier box lid have been noted for some time. They are fairly strong, a good shape and size, like a deep sided tray. They are great for single layer storage, and if you are working on a project, you can see everything you need at a glance. 

The only problem – they aren’t too pretty to look at! So I came up with the idea of covering them with some remnants and bits of fabrics leftover from other jobs – its not a perfect sewing job as I used scraps, but you get the idea! This is full on recycling and I even made little Singleton buttons as handles for them, in matching fabrics. 

I basically made a sleeve for the tray by cutting an A4 base then attaching a long strip for the inner wall and to that a long strip for the outer wall. I then fitted the sleeve to the box and fixed it with some strong stitches in the inside corners in matching thread, to get it nice and snug. I then whip stitched a fabric base to the bottom of the outer wall piece to enclose the sleeve, and finished with a handmade singleton button! 

Here they are in use! 

Image

2 thoughts on “Covered Craft Storage Boxes

Leave a Reply

