Creating Texture in Crochet with Post Stitches

I am playing with post stitches at the moment. They are a great way to create ribbing and textural effects in crochet, but they can be real yarn gobblers, so make sure you have plenty!

Here I am making some boot cuffs in forward and back post stitches which will be trimmed with some horn buttons to add a touch of the individual to boot tops. I am using a flecky DK left over from some knitted socks, on a 4.5mm hook, worked in the round. The trick is to get your chain (even number of chains) flat on the first round so you can join a tube with a slip stitch, then after the foundation row of trebles you are away, working alternate stitches. The beauty of this technique is that the front and back is identical so great for turn down cuffs, or use it as a ribbing on mittens, a collar on a poncho (which I will be doing soon on a huge granny poncho I am working on). Image

You will want perfect rows for this, not spirals, so finish each row with two chains to bridge to the next round, like this:

Image

And look how thick and chunky it is! These will be super cosy!

Image

I am also experimenting with this lovely German sock yarn I got last weekend at the Knitting & Stitching Show, its quite fine and recommends a 2 to 3mm hook but I don’t want it to be too thick as it will be a men’s scarf, so after several goes with the hook sizes I am using a 4mm hook to get a close pattern but one which is quite flexible to be worn around the neck. Here I am using a basket weave pattern which alternates the front and back post stitches in rows of three, and I really like it! I found this great tutorial from Mikey (watched a few men doing crochet recently) which you need to translate from American terms – his double is our treble.  I love his ‘cheat’ on this first row – who says its all about being a perfectionist, if there is a way round a mistake, or a quick short cut, I am all for it! He also has an interesting technique which is very different to what I was taught, and teach, but super efficient! Great row end management too, with a neat result!

Here’s the first four pattern repeats, again, it’s identical front and back so perfect for a scarf:

Image

Leave a Reply

