More Cake! and crochet…

I have finished so many things this week (yeah!!!) I don’t know where to start in showing them. I think I will start with cake, since cake is ALWAYS a good idea. Here is a rich fruit cake which I have done for a 90th birthday party – the old gent used to be an upholsterer so I went with a quilting, deep buttoning and tacking theme on this on, with a smart masculine colour scheme.

Image

 

I liked the little bun feet on the armchair.

Image

 

Not tried the quilted effect before and its not that easy but I found a great tutorial on You Tube. You basically mark out your quilting spaces using a measure along the top edge of the cake, then use a diagonally cut piece of card along the bottom as a guide and a stitching wheel to emboss. The numbers are meant to look a bit fabric-y too so I used quite a thick royal icing for the run outs.

Image

 

Modelling little bits and pieces is fun but soooooo time consuming! I love metallic food paint, its so clever! So here are little silver scissors, a hammer and a heavy duty needle! 

Image

Leave a Reply

