Yarn Eater!

I’ve been wanting to try out Sarah London’s yarn eater pattern for a while, so I am using it for my latest cushion cover. It’s a really interesting stitch, and one section involves drawing the loop through 10 loops on the hook – reminds me of tunisian crochet or even knitting! I also checked out Crochet Dad’s great tutorial on the wheel stitch, a similar technique. The Sarah London pattern uses Australian stitch references which is the same as we Brits, I had to translate Crochet Dad’s.

It’s called yarn eater and its true to its name! And the stuff I am using here, the same Rowan alpaca/cotton mix I used in the bobble textured cushion cover and a beautiful 100% wool from Bridport Yarn, is not cheap! I am off back there on Saturday for another ball, and the back of the piece will have to be in plain old doubles!

I have gone against all the rules and used two quite different yarns, which has given this a highly textural, lump bumpy finish which I rather like! Check out this work in progress pic which gives a good idea of the pattern.

Image

Leave a Reply

