Home Sweet Home

Image

I have just put the finishing touches on my latest cushion, the ‘provenance’ piece which I really loved making. I used handspun wool and silk yarn direct from the spinner and my own piece of handspun, hand dyed wool in the reddish shade for the cross stitching. The yarn came out of the skein very fine, slightly slubby and almost linen-like, so  I worked it on a 3mm hook in double crochets – nice and plain.  Across the envelope back I used little vintage leather buttons from a stash I inherited. I really am so pleased with this, it’s for my new home in West Dorset and I have enjoyed making this more than just about anything, which completely proves the point about the quality and beauty of the raw materials making such a difference to the final piece!

Later on I’ll be switching to crochet edging as I put together the patterns for my next Intermediate Crochet Workshop at Make & Do. News on this, and more photos, coming up!

Some more pics here of my newest cushions!

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

